International Award

The Award started in the UK in 1956 where it is known as the Duke of Edinburgh’s Award and it is estimated that more than 5 million young people in more than 100 countries have been motivated to undertake the Award. There are many thousands of young people between the ages of 14 and 25 who are presently participating in the IA around the World. 

The International Declaration

“The Award concept is one of individual challenge. It presents to young people a balanced, non-competitive programme of voluntary activities which encourages personal discovery and growth, self-reliance, perseverance, responsibility to themselves and service to their community.”

The Award is a programme of cultural, practical and adventurous activities. The IA and the IB CAS components have much in common and can be operated in conjunction with each other.

The Award is non-competitive; available to all from 14 to 25 years; voluntary; flexible; balanced; progressively challenging; valuable; enjoyable. There are three attainment levels:

  • Bronze for those 14 years and over.
  • Silver for those 15 years and over.
  • Gold for those 16 years and over.

And there are four sections: To gain an Award, all four sections must be tackled.

SERVICE to encourage a sense of responsibility to the community
SKILLS to encourage the development of cultural, vocational or practical skills
PHYSICAL RECREATION to encourage improved performance and physical fitness
ADVENTUROUS JOURNEY to encourage a spirit of adventure and discovery
RESIDENTIAL PROJECT (Gold only) to broaden experience through involvement with others in a residential setting


Students in Grades 10 to 13 are eligible to participate in the International Award.

Additional details, application for places & cost

There is an information evening organized in September for parents and students.

A short video about what can you do on the International Award.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *